Welcome to Virtual Pet List - the fastest growing online games forum on the internet

Would you like to become a member of the largest and most successful virtual pets & sim games community on the internet today? We've been opened since 2011 and since then, we've been providing developers, artists, players and writers with the most relevant, up to date, quality and in depth content covering the entire online games community. So, if you just like virtual pet sites, we have you covered. But, if you prefer sim games, well we're here for you as well. However, if you're a new game developer and you're looking to show off your game to all of our members, then we'd love to hear all about your game in our sneak peeks forum. Just because our name is Virtual pet list doesn't mean pet games is the only thing we talk about. Our community talks about technology, making money, making art, writing and a lot more. So, please don't be afraid to say hello to everyone here because you never know what type of friends you'll make on our community. We strive to be friendly and offer positive discussions. We're very passionate, caring and hard working members of these niche, so if you hear about a new pet game from your friend, then it's highly likely that your friend found that game on our forum. If you want to learn anything about developing your own online game, then just go through our guides forum. You'll notice that whatever you're seeking on other developer's communities has more than likely already been talked about, researched and has already been put into good use by highly skilled developers.

  1. An upcoming virtual pet site that's owned by one of our moderators, Pepper-headAn upcoming virtual pet site that's owned by one of our moderators, Pepper-head sim game where you can breed your very own cats Kaylune, a virtual pet site Grophland.com : Breed virtual pets, Play, Explore
    VigLink badge

    Comment, rate or review Virtual Pet Sites, Sim Games or Role Playing games.
    Help vpl reach 10k users by Promoting us or purchase advertising
    : Development Guides - The Admin Effect - Browser games

    Donations are now being accepted again!!!
    What would you like us to improve?

Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Cupcakes, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. EDIT: Nevermind, I don't think the person who is trying to sell me the site even owns it. That would explain everything.

    Okay, I'm not sure if I'm just not used to how things work here, or if this is an abnormal situation.

    I'd posted a few weeks back that I'd been looking for a coder or a pet site to purchase. I've gotten quite a few people in touch with me, and just as I'd thought I'd made up my mind I got one final offer.
    The person contacted me and gave me a brief description of the site that they were selling (I think?). It gave me no financial standpoint of the site, no idea of the user base, or any other information, just that they were considering selling the site, which I'd also seen on this forum previously.
    When I requested the information that wasn't disclosed, they basically turned the questions on me, and started to ask about my own financial situation. When I explained that I wasn't willing to give them that information, and again asked for the statistics on the site, they told me that without me giving them information on what I'd done previously, and a resume, that they wouldn't tell me any more about the site.

    At this point, I'm baffled. Is this normal? I've never had anything like this happen before with buying a small business, but I'd seen something similar to it with other people. If it were a larger business I could see the person requesting a business plan or something before they'd consider selling, but they came to me, which is why I'm confused.

    Feedback, anyone? I'd rather not step on any toes while I'm here.

    • Listed on here that I was looking to buy a site
    • Someone got in touch with me with basically just the url of a site they were selling.
    • When I asked for more information, they said they wouldn't give it to me without me giving them a resume and some more financial information about myself.
    • I turned down their "offer", but now I'm wondering if that's normal here?

      So basically, is it normal for someone here to offer to sell you something and then say that they won't tell you anything about what they're selling without knowing your own information?
    #1 Cupcakes, Jul 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2012
    Your banner/button can be located here for an entire month or year, please see our advertising on virtualpetlist thread for more information.

  2. If you do not believe this person owns the site I would suggest speaking to @cpvrcpvr over PM (rather than putting things into the public domain initially) to confirm details. I would imagine @cpvrcpvr would be able to tell you more about the site and owner :) good luck
    #2 Earth, Jul 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2013
  3. What is the site called that they were trying to sell you? @CupcakesCupcakes And a simple whois lookup would help you determine if they're the owner or not.
    #3 cpvr, Jul 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2013
  4. Honestly if they were trying to sell you a site, they have to tell you of the financial situation of that site so you know you can keep up with the payments yourself. They shouldn't need to have your info though to sell the site. I wouldn't trust the person myself like that. If you want you can contact me or @cpvrcpvr over pm and we can help you decide on it.
    #4 Michi, Jul 24, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 16, 2013
  5. I got a message from the person, saying that they do not own the site I thought they were trying to sell me. Now they're telling me it was a miscommunication.

    Either way, I still wanted to see exactly how things were run on here as far as buying sites. The whole situation seemed odd to me, it still seems odd to me. Why a person needs any of my info in order to sell me a site is still abnormal to me. They've pretty much turned it around on me now, stating that by me not being willing to give them my information that I'm the untrustworthy one, so it's seeming more and more odd, but this person seems like they're a usual member on the site, that's why I didn't want to just jump to conclusions.
  6. Could you tell us their username them? If they're not the owner, then they can't sell the site to you without proper authority from the owner.
  7. They don't need your info to sell you a site.
  8. Well that wouldn't surprise me, people have done that for real with property and cars before.

Share This Page

  • About VPL

    We are a community of artists, writers, programmers and general users who have a vested interest in virtual pet games. All of us are from different backgrounds and yet we group together with one goal, to ensure our community is one of the best!
  • Like VPL on Facebook!

  • Support VPL

    We have to face that the site doesn't run for free sadly. If it did, we would be all set but unfortunately the costs are getting higher and higher as we grow. We offer members a Supporter premium usergroup. If you donate to VPL you are joined to this group and you get many perks that members do not get.

    Donate to VPL!