Ja sa bong

1k Club Member
Original poster
Messages
3,755
Reaction score
468
Points
88
Have you ever experience your Neopets account being purged as a result inactivity for a long time? Neopets target accounts which are 2 to 3 years ; that's approximately 24 to 36 months with no login activity.

Also, accounts with minimal activities like having no pets, no items, or very low customization are also targeted for purging.

Do you know any player whom his/her account have been purged? Did they managed to get it back?
 
I had a friend whose Neopets account was purged. The account didn't get logged on to for three years. It had not even a single Neocash. I think it is pretty fair to purge such accounts to create space on the server.
 
If an account is purged, it's generally wiped out for all the databases that Neopets has. I don't believe there is any chance of getting it back upon deletion, however, if an account is frozen, it may be possible to get it back if you're able to get ahold of a customer service rep.


Neopets' last account purge occured back in October of 2024. They might have another in the near future, but is likely that they'll make a formal announcement prior to the next one.

What Happens In An Account Purge?​

During a purge, inactive accounts are deleted from the servers over a period of several days or weeks. This is done automatically by a computer program, so it can happen twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week—there's no member of TNT sitting in the office, pressing a button to delete each account. As a result, the speed with which accounts are deleted is exactly the same during "working" hours as it is in the middle of the night.

The deletion process tends to happen in alphabetical order, so accounts beginning with "A" vanish before accounts beginning with "Z". Numbers are considered to come before "A", while underscores are considered to come after "Z". However, accounts may be sorted into several batches, so it's possible that having finished deleting one set of accounts, the program may begin again at the start of the alphabet with a fresh batch.

Kyrii with a Chalkboard Showing the Letter A

...W, X, Y, Z, underscore. What do you mean, that's not how you learnt the alphabet at school?

When an account is deleted, it effectively vanishes from the site. Any pets, items, Neopoints, and petpages associated with it disappear. (However, if the user has won any site contests such as the Pet Spotlight, their entry will still be viewable in the archives even after the account is deleted. The same applies if they were ever mentioned by name in New Features or the editorial.)

Although many people claim that a deleted account's items are returned to Neopian shops or the Money Tree, in reality this does not happen—the items simply vanish. The same applies to Neopets and Petpets. So if that friend of yours who owns a one-of-a-kind item from the Smugglers' Cove hasn't been active for a while, you'd better make sure they come back soon if you don't want that treasure to disappear from Neopia forever!

Re-Creation and "Name Stalking"​

If you don't happen to be the owner of a long-inactive account, a purge may still be relevant to your interests. Many people take advantage of an account purge to make themselves a new side account or Neopet using one of the names that were deleted.

Typically, there is no announcement when a purge starts, ends, or reaches a certain point. The Neopets Team appear to view purges as back-end maintenance of relatively little interest to ordinary users, and the most notice that can be expected is a mention in the Neopian Times editorial. (Sometimes, inactivity warning notices may be emailed to long-gone players in anticipation of an upcoming purge, but these do not indicate that one is going to happen any time soon—for example, the 2010 purge took place in December after warning emails had been sent out in June.) If you're interested in snapping up a particular account name, you're going to have to employ a little patience and detective work.

The most common method of "name-stalking" is to keep an account's userlookup as your browser's homepage. If you log on one day to find that the lookup has been replaced by a message reading "Sorry, nobody by this name exists in Neopia. Try another username in the search box below!", you'll know the account has been deleted. Assuming the name fits the rules, you're free to create an account by the same name as soon as it disappears.

Not all accounts eligible for deletion will be purged; it's not known what might prevent an account from being deleted, but it does sometimes happen that an account will apparently escape the purge for no obvious reason. TNT won't respond to requests for specific accounts to be deleted, so if the account you're stalking simply won't go, you may be out of luck. In particular, there have been no known cases of an official Neopets Team staff account being deleted and recreated during a purge. This is probably deliberate, to prevent possible scamming attempts—so if your dream account name is "borovan" or "donna", you might have to think again.

Protecting Your Account From Purges​

Account purges are based entirely on how long it's been since the last time an account was accessed, not how long the user spent playing on the site or what they did while logged in. So even if you don't have the time to play Neopets at the moment, as long as you can spare two minutes to log in every year-and-a-half, your account will be safe. Have a nice hiatus, and we hope you can return to activity someday soon!